h1

List #2: Things in My Bag

19 May, 2009

That sounds dirty. Anyway, a while ago, I got a pretty sweet shoulder bag for school. It was advertised, at least by TV Guide, who was not selling it, as being Jack Bauer’s bag from 24. This is probably not the case, as I’ve seen a bunch of similar (but still different) bags being advertised as such by various publications. Nevertheless, I used it to go to and from class. And then I realised something. I often get migraines, and I have medicine that I take at the onset of each one, but that does me no use if it’s not near by. So, I decided I should probably carry it around with me. Which meant that I carried it in my bag, and took my bag essentially everywhere. It became a murse, but for medical reasons. And then it got extended. If I’m carrying it everywhere anyway, and already have one thing in it, why not put more useful stuff in it. So I did. Now, the thing is, what I am constantly prepared for is not the situations of day-to-day life, but rather the situations of being stranded in the wilderness, or on a desert island. Somehow, though, these things still come in handy. Keep in mind I still use this for school, as well.

My Bag

BAG:
Olive Drab Original Danish Style Canvas School Bag (from Fatigues Army Navy & Surplus Gear Co.)

CONTENTS: (ABOVE BLACK LINE: ALWAYS CARRIED) Listed Roughly From Top to Bottom, Left to Right.
12″ Ruler [One came with the bag to provide support, it has since broken, twice. This is the second one I have bought.]
Zippo High Polish Chrome Windproof Lighter (Cross Engraving) [Ideal for fighting vampires.]
Oakley Magnesium Four S Sunglasses (Dark Carbide) [These are apparently really expensive. I found them.]
Ibuprofen {Never hurts to carry pain killers. Ha!]
Deck of Cards
Corkscrew/Bottle Opener
Digital Thermometer
Travel Toothbrush [Normally I carry around a small tube of toothpaste as well, however I am currently using it, so no longer.}
Victorinox “Equestrian” Swiss Army Knife
Chapstick [Apparently this is also sunblocking.]
Tiny Bottle of Cologne.
Microfiber Cleaning Cloths
Hand Sanitizer
Aluminum Sulfate Nick Relief Tube [Stops small cuts from bleeding]
Matches
512 MB Cruzer USB Key
iPod to USB Cord
Compass
Alcohol Wipes [Stolen From Wagamama]
Maps and Schedules of Various Cities and Routes [Trains, buses, ferries, you name it.]
Various Pens [My favorites are a Sharpie, a calligraphy pen, and a Waterman Phileas Fogg fountain pen which is not pictured.]
Sanford Logo 4 Mechanical Pencil [The best mechanical pencil out there. Really.]
Eyeglass Repair Kit
No.2 Leads.
Bobby Pin Made into Crude Lock Pick
Bobby Pin
Sewing Kit
First Aid Kit [Containing another Sewing Kit, Band-aids of various shapes and sizes, antihistamines, and decongestants. And scissors and a tape measure.]
Imitrex [The migraine medicine that started it all]
Kleenex Anti-Viral Tissues [I don’t believe the anti-viral-ness of them, but I got them for free.]
Ricola Cough Drops
“Refresh and Gladden My Spirit” Baha’i Prayer Booklet [The Baha’i are awesome.]
“Living Waters for Thirsty Souls” Mennonite Propaganda Flyer [There’s a story behind this, which I won’t go into.]

(BELOW BLACK LINE: OFTEN CARRIED, BUT NOT ALWAYS):
Sigg Aluminum Water Bottle [With good luck charm around it. Charm from Claire’s.]
Umbrella
Moleskine Notebook
2 GB iPod Nano
Cell Phone (Samsung SCH-900)
Memory Card Reader [Containing a spare card for my camera.]
Rechargeable AA Batteries [Also spare for my camera.]
Creative EP-630 In-Ear Headphones [In a case for Apple In-Ear Headphones, which I had previously but they broke.]

NOT PICTURED:
Canon PowerShot A590IS Digital Camera [This would go under the black line if I could take a picture of it instead of with it.]
Lock Picks [They have come in handy more times than I can count. But, I didn’t trust taking them through airplane security.]
Toothpaste [Already Mentioned]
Fountain Pen [Already Mentioned]

So I believe that’s it for typical things I carry around. And that’s why my shoulder always hurts. The end.

2 comments

  1. Thats alot of stuff!


  2. Do you like those sunglasses, because if you don’t there are probably lots of people who would buy them



Leave a Reply

