h1

Musicals You Should Listen To

13 March, 2009

I’m a reasonable fan of musical theatre. I’m a bigger fan of weird musical theatre. I could honestly care less about big shows like Rent, Chicago, and so on. I’m much more entertained by, say, Zombie Prom, or Evil Dead the Musical; tongue in cheek revues that really have no connection to the mainstream. Or, a connection that is so odd that it’s just perfect. It’s two of these last category that I’m about to share with you, and, what’s more, they’re free online, so you have no reason NOT to listen.

24: The Musical—This is basically amazing. By the same people who apparently wrote a musical version of The Silence of the Lambs, it’s a musical of the second season of 24. I mean, honestly, there’s not much I can say about this that wouldn’t be better experienced by listening to it. It also has a somewhat specific base of experience, it’s going to be much funnier if you’ve seen 24 at all, and even more the second season. The one track not to miss is “I Will Torture You,” which includes such choice lines as “I will yell at you in my angry voice [if you’ve seen 24 you know exactly what this means].” Similarly, “Three Countries in the Middle East” (which also makes fun of the very unspecific threats consistent in 24) contains a reprise of the following: “Bauer: I will torture them! David Palmer [president]: Please don’t torture them! Bauer: Let me torture them!” Occasionally melodies are based on the relatively stupid incidental music by Sean Callery, which makes his music much better. There’s also one moment where the best phone ring ever is used melodically, somehow.

Star Wars: The Musical—This is good in a slightly different way. Some of this music is unbearable, in my opinion, but it’s still an entertaining concept. But what makes this one especially interesting is that one song is, well, actually, really good. The special edition version of “One Season More” is produced and written incredibly well. I’m impressed.

Anyway, I just thought I should share.

Leave a Reply

