h1

My Own Little Oscar Ceremony.

20 January, 2008

Well, not quite. But as many people, including my brother, have done recently, I’m going to attempt to make a top ten movie list of 2007. Here goes nothing:

  1. The Kingdom
  2. Ratatouille
  3. Sweeney Todd
  4. The Bourne Ultimatum
  5. I Am Legend
  6. The Simpsons Movie
  7. 300
  8. I’m Not There
  9. Transformers
  10. Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End

This is a very strange list for me. As it is, I imagine, for anyone reading it. The first 5 I’m sure about. But after I got past those five, I was really finding it harder and harder to think of movies that I really enjoyed. Some of those last five are really stretches (Pirates, 300…) I did love Transformers, though. But is it because I didn’t see that many movies this year? I don’t think that’s true. I guess I just wasn’t really satisfied with most of the ones I did see.

To be fair, the main movies that everyone loved in 2007 I didn’t see. Juno, There Will Be Blood, Enchanted, No Country For Old Men, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, 3:10 to Yuma… and so on. I still want to see all of them, I just never had the chance.

However, I can’t say enough about The Kingdom. I loved it, it felt real, it was moving, and exciting, and had Jason Bateman… It also was very not black and white; it was hard to tell if anyone was really on the side of good in this movie, especially after the end. My one qualm with it, though, was that during a big shootout near the end of the movie, the film made me feel exactly how I was hoping it wouldn’t (and had up to that point succeeded in not making me feel this way)—that I wanted to do that, that gun battles were exciting, and that I think it would be cool to be a soldier fighting for Right. But that quickly diminished, and my end opinion is that everyone should see this movie.

Ratatouille you already know my opinions about, and Sweeney Todd was a really bloody, great musical. I’ve never seen or heard any other version of it, though, so I don’t know how it compares, but it was really fun to watch, even twice.

My parting thought is that the number one worst movie I saw this year was (drumroll please): Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (with Stardust coming in as a close second). Why did I see this movie? I… just… don’t… know…

Leave a Reply

